Kentucky-fied Kitchen, Volume II: Cookies de Coco

When I cleaned out my cupboards for my move, I salvaged only a couple items, one of them being a full bag of sweetened, shredded coconut. I don’t know why; I’d only used it once – it’s certainly not a pantry staple. But it’s delicious. Pretty. And would be able to travel well. So I packed it.

When I arrived at amy’s, I found her fridge a force to be reckoned with. I found two other nearly-whole bags of coconut in its trenches. I told her we were chucking the oldest, and we would proceed accordingly. She scoffed at my suggestion! No!, she said. Not wanting to piss off my new host, I shoved the third bag on top of the other two and walked away, shuddering at the sheer volume of coconut on hand. Excessive. Needless.

When she went to work the next day, I immediately googled ‘coconut’ recipes. I was willing to make anything. I didn’t even feel the need to commit to quality; I just wanted to make use of the surplus.

‘Chewy Coconut Oatmeal Cookies’ came up in the search string. They looked okay. I tried to make sure we had everything on hand. This took much longer than expected, as the damn web page kept freezing. For some reason, I kept reloading. I am soooo glad I did.

photo 4

The reviews around these parts were astounding. The recipe was requested immediately. “Top 3, All-Time”, she said. “Gorgeous”, he said (he’s Scottish). Consumed quickly; revered after consumption.

IMG_9781

2 thoughts on “Kentucky-fied Kitchen, Volume II: Cookies de Coco

  1. Can you share the recipe? I have some shredded coconut (really, no clue why) in my cupboard and would love to make some delish cookies!!

Leave a Reply

